The Awkward Years

MV5BODE2NjE4NjYyMV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNzk3MjQ0OTE@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_.jpg

The main reason I wanted to see this movie is because Hailee Stienfeld was in it. I honestly didn’t care what it was about, I just knew it was going to be good! And of course I was right. It was even better than I hoped it would be!

If you can’t guess what this movie is about based on the title alone, I will tell you. It’s follows Nadine (Stienfeld) through her teenage years. It will take you back to around when she was 7 and show you how she became such an awkward outcast asshole, and progress from there until she’s on “the edge of 17”. Yeah, she’s kind of an asshole.

I’m not really sure how to describe this movie. It is of course another coming of age story, but it so much better than the recent movies like it. I think what made this movie so great, aside from the cast, is that it gives you just the right amount of certain emotions. It’s funny throughout, but you will also feel sad, anxious, and down right heartbroken at times. Right when things are getting pretty heavy, some comic relief comes in and brightens the mood back up. I loved it!

Kylie’s Rating: A+

 

Leave a Reply

